C.M. Russell Rides Again The namesake museum’s annual auction grossed $4.7 million for its educational programs.

watercolor indian scout painting true west magazine
The 1895 watercolor Indian Scout exceeded the high estimate of $375,000, selling for $409,500 with buyer’s premium.
— All Images Courtesy C.M. Russell Museum Unless Otherwise Noted —

On March 23, 2019, the C.M. Russell Museum in Great Falls, Montana, held its annual live auction as the capstone to three days of programs, exhibits and other offerings in keeping with its mission and namesake. The sold-out capacity Saturday live auction along with other sales proved highly successful with the gross total for the 2019 events, including buyer’s premiums, reaching $4.7 million.

all legs adeline halvorson true west magazine
At Friday night’s “First Strike Auction” Adeline Halvorson’s 48”x16” oil titled All Legs was estimated at $5,000 to $7,000. Interest ran high. After fierce competition, the price with buyer’s premium was $40,000.

In all, over 200 lots of art in various media, including paintings, sculptures, furniture and models, were up for bid, with proceeds benefitting the museum’s nonprofit and educational programs.  While contemporary artists dominated, past masters Harold von Schmidt (1893-1982), Olaf Seltzer (1877-1978), Will James (1892-1942), Frank Earle Schoonover (1877-1922) and of course, Charles M. Russell were represented.

approach of the white men oil painting true west magazine
The $1.369 million sale price for Approach of the White Men fell midway between the estimated
low and high price for this stellar oil painting.

In fact, 13 lots by Russell ranged from one of his iconic illustrated letters to a bronze and several paintings. While some of the work depicted wildlife such as grizzly bear and elk, the most prevalent was American Indians, a topic which helped propel Russell into the top ranks of Western artists.

cm russell indian with bow
Russell’s 1900 oil Indian with Bow came close to its high estimate of $800,000 when it sold for $753,000 with buyer’s premium.

Not surprisingly, as indicated by the museum’s media release: “Consistent with years past, significant Russell works in the auction are among the highest earners of the night.” For instance, the 1897 oil Approach of White Men sold for $1,369,000; the 1900 oil Indian with Bow brought $753,000; the 1895 watercolor Indian Scout went for $409,500; and the 1898 watercolor ink wash Preparation for the Buffalo Hunt was $128,700.

The 1898 watercolor ink wash Preparation for the Buffalo Hunt nearly reached its high estimate. The gavel came down for $128,700 with buyer’s premium.

Not all the high prices resulted from the Saturday sale. During the previous evening, the “First Strike Auction” that featured 79 lots by living artists, grossed $420,556 including buyer’s premiums. Again, as reported by the museum’s media release: “The highest selling piece was the thrilling sale of Lot 36, All Legs by Adeline Halvorson, which resulted in a bidding war that ended at $40,000.

For a complete list of sales, visit CMRussell.org.

John Langellier’s most recent book , “Trapdoor” Springfield, was released last summer by Osprey of London. He currently is completing his next book, Scouting with the Buffalo Soldiers: Lieutenant Powhatan Clarke, Frederic Remington and the Tenth U.S. Cavalry in the West.

Related Posts

  • william-johnstone_butch-cassidy-rides-again

    William W. Johnstone and J.A. Johnstone’s Butch Cassidy: The Final Years has the outlaw returning…

  • Wyatt-Earp’s -Vendetta -Posse -Rider

    Peter Brand’s Wyatt Earp’s Vendetta Posse Rider: The Story of Texas Jack Vermillion is a…

  • Elmore Leonard book cover

    For fans of Elmore Leonard, William Morrow has published a collection of the Michigan author’s…